top of page
Image by Joel Filipe


Historically Black Law School Scholarship Program
Annually BESLA awards a scholarship to one student enrolled in each of the nation' s historically black law schools who is nominated by the respective law school dean. The HBCU law schools that BESLA serves include:
  • Florida A&M University School of Law
  • Howard University School of Law
  • North Carolina Central University School of Law
  • Southern University Law Center
  • Thurgood Marshall School of Law at Texas Southern University
  • University of the District of Columbia-David A. Clarke School of Law

Candidates for consideration must be a full-time Black student at an ABA-accredited law school with a GPA of 3.0/4.0 (or the equivalent thereof) and have met at least two (2) of the following requirements:
  • Completed at least one (1)  intellectual property, sports, or entertainment law course
  • Completed at least one (1) internship, fellowship, or law school clinic in sports, entertainment, or related field, including (but not limited to) new media, digital media, legislative affairs related to the sports/entertainment industry, intellectual property, or similar discipline
  • Is a member in good standing of their law school's sports and entertainment organization
bottom of page