Historically Black Law School Scholarship Program

Annually, BESLA awards a scholarship to one student at each of the nation’s historically black laws schools.

These schools are:

  • Florida A&M University School of Law

  • Howard University School of Law

  • North Carolina Central University School of Law

  • Southern University Law Center

  • Thurgood Marshall School of Law at Texas Southern University



Each candidate must be a minority student enrolled in law school on a full-time basis. The candidate must have completed at least one (1) full year of law school at an accredited law school. The candidate must have a cumulative minimum GPA of 2.8 and meet two or more of the following requirements:

  • Completed an intellectual property, sports and/or entertainment law course

  • Completed an internship in sports, entertainment, or related field including, but not limited to new media, digital media, legislative affairs related to the sports/entertainment/related industries, intellectual property

  • Is a member in good standing of the school’s sports and entertainment club

Requirements: Deadline for both Essay Submission and HBCU Scholarship will be on October 14, 2019

Submit electronically:

  • a letter of interest (no more than one page)

  • a scholarship application

  • a one (1) page resume and bio not to exceed 250 words

  • a business/professional headshot

  • a written recommendation from the Dean of your law school.

  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • LinkedIn Clean
  • White Instagram Icon